Ideas For Self Initiated Project

Using spider diagrams help me so much to come up with ideas when it’s the first stage of a design process. So I have decided I am going to write out a few (or maybe even more than that) until I come up with my final idea.

First stage – IDEAS

Second Stage – My Interests

At first I was so stuck for an idea but after writing out these spider diagrams I have faint idea of what I would like to do now. I love branding (making logos, designing , setting colour scheme ,advertising). So I thought why don’t I do something that links to this. I then thought of when I am at home what do I do with most of my time? Most of my time is spent with my brother and sister, either watching television with them and playing with their toys with them. My brother and sister are 4 -7 which is a good age range when aiming at children. I have chosen children (parents of the children, to a certain point) as my target audience as I know this area quite well. I think my brother and sister find education quite boring as they’re at the age where they just want to play games. So  I thought I could make a couple of animated characters that make learning a particular subject fun? That way i can also put in some branding into my project as I can make their names as a logo, set colour schemes, chose fonts and make sure they are suitably advertised to right audience. If needed I can also use my brother and sister as part of my brand (photos). I now need to decide what kind of work I want to do with these characters.

What kind of software? What type of work?

I have decided that I may design the characters (the brand) and then make a short animation which is educational. I am designing characters to try and make something educational look/sound fun. I will test my designs out on my brother and sister as they have quite short attention spans so I want to try and make something that captivates them and makes them want to learn. I have decided to leave out making a website because an animation piece is easier for teachers to show in class and at the moment I am not fully confident with code so I don’t want to end up making something rubbish because I set myself up to high. I now need to research into companies that also aim to make education fun for kids. I need to look out how they brand themselves, what they teach, how they teach and if they actually do get the ‘fun’ part across.

Leave a Reply

